Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Managing your research profile: Coverage and sources

Handy tip: Consider the coverage and sources for each citation database to help you decide which database to use, the h-index and other metrics will vary depending on how suitable the database is to your discipline and research area.

Citation metrics, such as the h-index, are derived from Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar.

For Pros and Cons of each see http://myri.conul.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/H-index-datasheet-2016.pdf

Note: SciVal, which is based on Scopus citation data, is used by the Institutional Research Office to generate reports. See http://www.nuigalway.ie/institutionalresearchoffice/research-metrics/research-metric-tools/scopus-&-scival-overview/  for more information and SciVal training videos.

Scopus coverage and sources

Discontinued-sources-from-Scopus_January2019 (XLSX, 0.06 MB)

For more information on Scopus content see https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/scopus/content

 

Suggest titles to Scopus

Would you like to suggest a journal title for inclusion in Scopus?

Scopus Title Suggestion Form

Google Scholar

In this blog post, Anne-Wil Harzing who created the Publish or Perish software, outlines how Google Scholar is more inclusive than other citation databases for Social Sciences,  Huma­ni­ties, and  Engineering & Computer Science:

Google Scholar is a serious alternative to Web of Science

Anne-Wil Harzing - 

datasheet from MvRI provides a single sheet summary on Google Scholar (GS) for bibliometrics through the use of the Publish or Perish (PoP) software. It includes the pros and cons of GS as a data source and an overview of the key metrics provided by PoP. 

 

A video recording of "Google Scholar, Scopus and the Web of Science: A longitudinal and cross-disciplinary comparison", a presentation given at a seminar organised by the Spanish Journal of Psychology at the Universidad Complutense, Madrid, 16 November 2015. - Presentation slides