Skip to main content

Finding Microform

Finding Microform

The Library has a wide range of resources which are available on either microfilm or microfiche. These can be read in our two microform reading facilities.

The microform holdings are available by searching the library catalogue

Microform Room 

The Microform Room is located on the ground floor of the Main Library. Take a right when you enter the library and it's on the right just after the book returns area. 

Research Microfilm Reading Room

The Research Microform Reading Room is adjacent to the Special Collections Reading Room in the Hardiman Building. 

In general newspapers which are available on microfilm are stored in the Main Library and may be requested through the Library & IT Service Desk. Research microfilms are stored in the Hardiman Building and may be requested through the Special Collections Reading Room desk. Microfilm holdings of the manuscripts of the Irish Foklore Commission are available on the shelves in the Main Library Microfilm Reading Room. Please note that we do NOT hold the Schools Collection manuscripts. These are available on microfilm in the relevant public library.

Both rooms have microfilm readers that allow you to consult and print off images, as well as creating digital copies if required. Printed guides to collections are shelved in the Research Microfilm room where the microfiche collections are stored in drawer cabinets.

Microfilm Reading Room

The Microfilm Reading Room in the Main Library is accessible during Library opening hours. The Research Microfilm Room is open during the Special Collections Reading Room opening hours.  Readers wishing to consult microfilms from the Research Collection outside of the latter may do by requesting them to be made available in the Main Library Microfilm Room.

Staff at the Library & IT Service Desk will provide assistance with locating and using newspaper material on microfilm while you can contact staff in the Special Collections Reading Room at specialcollections@nuigalway.ie