Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Hotel Management: Databases

This is a guide to the library resources and services available at Shannon College of Hotel Management.

What are databases?

Library databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or review they are a key resource to use.

Databases

To identify journal articles on a particular topic, you might find it useful to go to an individual database.  A number of the most relevant databases for Hotel Management studies are highlighted here.

Each database will have tutorials, often in video format, on how to get the most out of the resource. 

Hotel Management and Business-specific Scholarship
Interdisciplinary scholarship
Market research
Company information

Spotlight on EBSCOhost

Many of the Library’s subject-specific databases are on the EBSCOhost platform.  This is really handy because if you need to search the literature across multiple disciplines, you can do it all in the one search: Click on the Choose Databases hyperlink above the search box and you’ll see the other subject-specific databases that may be of relevance to your research:

For instance, Hospitality & Tourism Complete indexes the literature related to hospitality.  If you are researching a topic that overlaps with other disciplines such as psychology or environmental sustainability, you may find it useful to search the literature of these disciplines as well.  You can search any or all of these databases individually or concurrently by checking the radio buttons.  The little speech bubbles will give you a description of the content indexed.

Searching the Magazine Literature

There are also some general reference databases on this platform that might be useful.  The main ones for general magazines like Time, The Economist, and BusinessWeek are:

Law Databases

Law uses a broad range of databases to supplement and where appropriate replace printed materials.

The legal databases broadly offer access to:

  • caselaw
  • journals
  • legislation

The most popular Law databases are:

Depending on the publishers these databases will focus on Irish or UK or International Sources. It is only through practice and experience that you will get used to the different content and facilities that the databases provide.

More databases relevant to Law are available here

The Library has created various tutorials on using aspects of the Law Databases. Go to the Online Tutorials tab to view these tutorials. 

Additionally, here's a handy Student Handbook from Justis.

For Legal Abbreviations: Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

Another useful resource is: Murdoch and Hunt’s Encyclopedia of Irish Law