Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Library Events and Training: Database webinar recordings

Embase and Reaxys webinars NUI Galway April 2022 presented by Giulia Moncelsi, Elsevier

From Giulia Moncelsi, Elsevier

Thank you for joining the webinars for Reaxys and Embase, part of the 2nd Virtual Week of the Elsevier Virtual Roadshow Series for Irish universities. The webinars have been recorded and you may access slides and recordings for all sessions directly through  the below links. 

Note: see passcode for each recording in column 4.

 

2nd Virtual week: 4th April – 8th April 2022

Topic

Link to slides

Link to recording

Recording passcode

Navigating biomedical and pharmacological literature on Embase®

https://view.highspot.com/viewer/624b23157ae351c40f16f468

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/itod8MtbXMW4u9cSCv1YNCt_nJIDsjhDViObkTG91bauzetdXq8vb5G5CNj7NuLO.X1j0P9_dnyWdVgUZ

W1_Embase1

Searching chemistry information in Reaxys®

https://view.highspot.com/viewer/624c5e64f71242c6a00da204

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/W0P1TtVEKKwk2-QiPUmY6FHVa2bmGOwMXGH1Dd73axO4oT9laJnFMWHJvv5_NmyO.FD2YbiC3FBSeDoLW/

W2_Reaxys1

Embase® advanced training on systematic reviews

https://view.highspot.com/viewer/624ec2f15850ccc5c1097af1

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/h8wShobdl6y8J_tMF72mAedH9nQrCpLeZOpHl8xwvr3uG5r1mSjDIS1OPrE50kE.OR9dhiL-hFQFGJMu

W3_Embase2

Advanced skills and tips for using Reaxys®

https://view.highspot.com/viewer/625001eee5c7f4c619ea6241

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/3z3nCyc8JdKI2YzPzJXZOg-IjLkfbhYZWAKjOVCyDezvRPlPAFmqdv336e0uy5Tf.ltMMM_xVtKUnLhLc

W4_Reaxys2

 

 

Scopus webinar NUI Galway March 2022 presented by Dr. Denis Reidy, Elsevier

How to addresss some of researchers' more pressing concerns with Scopus

 

The recording is available here


Access Passcode: $0EQ7iEB
Please make sure you don’t copy white space accidentally when you use this passcode as this will result into an error message.

The slides are available here:

ScienceDirect webinar NUI Galway March 2022 presented by Michaela Kurschildgen, Elsevier

Introduction to ScienceDirect: More than a full text platform

 

 

Below you find the slide deck, your Certificate of attendance and further guidance: 

 

Please go to: https://researcheracademy.elsevier.com/workshop/eab877d1-ed81-4d6d-ac5e-fa640d8fd40b

Please let me know if you can’t access this site email m.kurschildgen@elsevier.com

 

Recording of the seminar:


https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/YttncUnPFfPlv7y4CRnEiKVdr6x_vcrN30d-DH0VEedrxBEX-KSDHoop3uZchIfl.QFMVeDbpezR9JWN9
Access Passcode: #z1k1CKv
Please make sure you don’t copy white space accidentally when you use this passcode as this will result into an error message.

Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any further questions.

Ovid webinars February 2022 presented by Michael Fanning, Wolters Kluwer

 

Michael Fanning presented two webinars in February 2022:

 

 

Introduction to Searching on Ovid databases - Researcher Workshop Series - 2 February 2022:

 

 

 

The recording is available here

 

Advanced Searching on Ovid for Systematic Reviews - Researcher Workshop Series - 11 February 2002:

The recording is available here

The demo is based on the sample search strategy below:

 

 

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost Research Databases online webinar for NUI Galway January 2022

 

Richard Crookes from EBSCO presented this webinar on 19 January 2022. 

NUI Galway have access to a wide range of databases via EBSCO with  databases across all subject areas including Business, Economics, Education, Health Sciences, Hospitality and Tourism, Psychology, Sociology, History, Humanities, Literature, Social Gerontology and ebooks.

See link to slides and recording below:

EBSCO databases webinar training October 2021 presented by Richard Crookes from EBSCO

 

Richard Crookes from EBSCO presented this webinar on 14 October. 

NUI Galway have access to a wide range of databases via EBSCO with  databases across all subject areas including Business, Economics, Education, Health Sciences, Hospitality and Tourism, Psychology, Sociology, History, Humanities, Literature, Social Gerontology and ebooks.

The recording is  available here:

 

 

 

The slides are available here:

 

 

 

 Introduction_EBSCOhost_141021.pptx Click for more options

ProQuest databases webinar training September 2021 presented by Ali Nazari-Nouri from Proquest

NUI Galway have access to a wide range of databases via Proquest, including ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  and databases across all subject areas including Education Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, History, Film and Media Studies, Literature, News and Newspapers.

If you would like to learn more about searching  databases on the Proquest platform, see this recording of the webinar presented by Ali Nazari-Nouri from Proquest:

 

Ali provided links to the following resources mentioned during the webinar:

With regards to the PowerPoint presentations, as I pointed out during the training, these can found in the ProQuest Platform LibGuide: https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform. We have also included recordings specific to the ProQuest Platform within the LibGuide.

Here is the link to Introducing ProQuest webinar series, which includes a webinar Introduction to  ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.

Here is also the link to the Discovering Primary Sources webinar series.

Compendex webinars NUI Galway December 2021 presented by Susan Watson, Elsevier

Ei Compendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world 

Download the Quick Reference Guide 

 

Compendex webinars presented by Susan Watson of Elsevier, November/December 2020

Compendex (Engineering Village) – An Introduction 36 minutes 

Recording with edited transcript:

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/GT7UlzKxINU5cpTYLMnQ4F7Pl0hwE4awQLMbdfv9IjktTFxgKryBhouZDlDf3Hlp.1ibTraeVrGya7-_-

Passcode: 8#LD1Piq

 

Compendex (Engineering Village) – Advanced session 30 minutes 

Recording with edited transcript:

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/Gg1VynVGLg-xI94R0L0kCFj4aawKHm2K-A_q7MWTAPFXkLW3tFLOi-TwsqRz-SE._67fM5oplxnBZXUc

Passcode: nie@^#9v

 

Note: Susan advised that the passcode may work better if you type in the password rather than copying and pasting.

 

 

See also the Compendex libguide: https://libguides.library.nuigalway.ie/Compendex/