Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
Chemistry Databases & Journals
The library provides access to several databases relevant to chemistry including:
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Chemcal journals & Patents - Registration required. Contact eResources JHL Library firstname.lastname@example.org or Niall Geraghty Chemistry Department (353 91 492474 email@example.com) for details of how to register.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window Experimentally validated chemical data covering organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals This link opens in a new window Full-text access to the Journals and Magazines of the American Chemical Society (1879 onwards)
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) provides access to journals published by RSC from 1841 to date.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Explore scientific, technical, and medical research on ScienceDirect!
Springer Journals (IReL) This link opens in a new window Lots of scientific journals at your fingertips.
General Science and Reference Sources
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the world’s leading citation databases with multidisciplinary information from over 12000 high impact journals and over 160000 conference proceedings from around the world. Includes powerful cited reference searching the Analyze Tool over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Covers life, health, social and physical sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed covers medicine nursing and related health science subjects. It includes life science and biomedical sciences and it provided by the US National Library of Medicine.
More Databases relevant to Chemistry are available here
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
Searching within a Database
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results