Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
Databases for Drama and Theatre Studies
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Founded in 2009, Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for English and the Performing Arts, providing over 3 million students, within over 1000 schools, colleges and universities, across 65 countries, with access to 600+ theatre productions and educational resources.
We collaborate with renowned theatre companies, actors and creatives to capture live performances in stunning quality and bring you insights from behind the scenes; we curate the very best productions from over 50 of the world’s leading arts organisations; and we commission educational resources from leading practitioners and academics.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Drama Online provides the fulltext of over 1200 plays and over 100 scholarly works. It provides contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal there is plenty to discover. The collection features the pre-eminent theatre lists of Methuen Drama the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Drama Online is continually updated.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window High definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films.
Kanopy provides access to more than 26,000 films and documentaries from a variety of independent filmmakers and distributors, including the BBC, PBS and the Criterion Collection.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION contains over 355000 works of English and American poetry drama and prose 389 fulltext literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Note: LION also cross-searches MLA International Bibliography.
British Theatre Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture This link opens in a new window Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions and curated by experts in British arts history. This collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with for example not only manuscripts and compositions but also documents such as personal letters annotated programs meeting minutes and financial records offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.
North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of Canadian and American theatre. It includes some 40000 pages of major reference materials together with records to approximately 30000 plays 57000 people 5400 theatres 22000 productions and 2500 production companies. The collection also includes approximately 10500 images playbills postcards scrapbooks and other resources.
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (TLS) (1902-2014) This link opens in a new window The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive contains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2014.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window This database provides access to works in English or in English translation by women before 1850. It is produced by the Brown University Women Writers Project which works on building an electronic collection of early women’s writing.
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
Searching within a Database
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results