Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
Databases for German
The library provides access to several databases relevant to German, including:
- DigiZeitschriften This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- Modern Languages Association International Bibliography (MLA) This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Translation Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new window
More databases for German are available here.
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
Searching within a Database
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results
- Last Updated: Sep 30, 2022 12:16 PM
- URL: https://libguides.library.nuigalway.ie/German
- Print Page