Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
The Library catalogue enables you to find out if the Library has particular books or journals, or to identify resources available on a subject by keyword. Print books relating to Maths are mainly located on Floor 2 of the Main Library at 510-519. Some are also available as e-Books via the library catalogue.
More databases relevant to Maths are available here.
Access Science @ McGraw-Hill the online encyclopedia of science & technology - MORE THAN 8700 ARTICLES covering all major scientific disciplines are continuously reviewed and updated
- 115,000-PLUS DEFINITIONS from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms are built into search results
- HUNDREDS OF BRIEFINGS about relevant concepts in science and technology provide a great starting place for research topic ideas
- 3000 BIOGRAPHIES cover well-known scientific figures
- 19,000-PLUS IMAGES AND ANIMATIONS illustrate key concepts in engaging and meaningful ways
- VIDEO BIOGRAPHIES highlight the life and work of award-winning scientists
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window MathSciNet® offers easily searchable access to a database of reviews abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window Project Euclid is a collaborative partnership between Cornell University Library and Duke University Press seeking to advance scholarly communication in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals. It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the world’s leading citation databases with multidisciplinary information from over 12000 high impact journals and over 160000 conference proceedings from around the world. Includes powerful cited reference searching the Analyze Tool over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.
Zentralblatt MATH - English This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides summary articles of the literature in pure and applied mathematics.
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
Searching within a Database
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results