Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Systematic Reviews: Managing the process

Why use reference management software ?

  • Ideal for managing large numbers of references
  • Create and maintain your own searchable database of references
  •  Insert citations into word processing documents
  •  Format references and bibliographies in a variety of styles                      

 

The University Galway has signed up with Eduserv/CHEST for a site license agreement (on-campus only) for  the use of EndNote.

Here's a link to our step-by-step guide used for our EndNote training sessions: 

See also the EndNote library guide for lots more useful information and guidance.

 

EndNote for systematic reviews video tutorials

 

Bob Green, EndNote trainer, has created a series of short videos on tips for researchers using EndNote for Systematic Reviews:

 

 

EndNote Tips for Systematic Reviews

 

See also section on Groups in the Library EndNote training guide: Introduction to EndNote X8 p. 24-27.

EndNote for systematic reviews recorded webinars August 2020

 

Recorded webinars from EndNote.com are available here:

Learn how you can:


– efficiently document the steps of your search process; and
– save time managing and de-duplicating results sets.

Note that there are two webinar recordings and respective presentations, as this webinar consisted of two separate sessions

 

See also this blog post from Clarivate Web of Science / EndNote:

If you’re new to the field or want to brush up on your knowledge about systematic reviews, this blog includes the following systematic review tips:

  • What is a systematic review?
  • Supporting a comprehensive search
  • Why more is better for databases
  • Search strategies in the Web of Science™
  • How EndNote™ can help

Limits for exporting records

  • For our Ovid resources (Medline & PSYCinfo), the limit is set at 2,000 results. 
  • For our EBSCO (CINAHL) resources, the limit is set to 2,000 results 
  • For Embase,  there is a download limit of 10,000 records at a time
  • For Scopus,  there is a download limit of  2,000 records at a time

For more information on exporting large number of results to EndNote from Ovid, EBSCO and Scopus see this guide from University of Southamption: https://library.soton.ac.uk/endnote/systematic-reviews

Need training for EndNote ?

  • The Library offers regular training in using EndNote. Check our list of events to see if there is a date that suits you.

 

  • Sign up for online training from EndNote. View their Calendar of training events

Software provided by NUI Galway

 

See the ISS A to Z  listing of software

Note: the library does not provide training on these tools. See links above for more information.

Other tools

 

In addition to EndNote, a number of other software tools can be used in the production of systematic reviews. 

  • Abstrackr An online tool for the task of citation screening. Available from http://abstrackr.cebm.brown.edu/account/login
  • Covidence Cochrane's main recommended screening and data collection tool, Covidence allows for collaborative title/abstract/fulltext screening, data extraction and risk of bias assessment. It is available from https://www.covidence.org/  -  click on Support  for links to tutorials and webinar training
  • Distiller SR Online application designed for screening and data extraction. Access at  https://distillercer.com/
  • EPPI-Reviewer 4  is Web-based software recommended by Cochrane for complex reviews including narrative and qualitative synthesis. Manages references, stores PDF files and faciliates qualitative and quantitative analysis. See http://training.cochrane.org/resource/eppi-reviewer for more information including how to access or subscribe
  • Rayyan enables rapid sifting of search citations and facilitates the sharing of decisions by review authors on studies to be included or excluded from their review. Available from http://rayyan.qcri.org/
  • RevMan  Review Manager is the Cochrane Collaboration's software used to prepare snd maintain reviews for publication in the Cochrane Library. The software can be downloaded from http://tech.cochrane.org/revman
  • Systematic Review Data Reporitory (SRDR) Web-based tool for the extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta-analysis". It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data, See http://srdr.ahrq.gov/

Cochrane compile an up-to-date searchable online catalogue of tools to support systematic reviews. The Systematic Review (SR) Toolbox is available at http://systematicreviewtools.com/​