Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Systematic Reviews: Identifying systematic reviews in health and social sciences

Resources

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. 

Note: CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups

 

The Campbell Library

International Campbell Collaboration's objectives are to prepare, maintain and disseminate systematic reviews of studies of social and economic interventions, and to make their findings accessible to decision makers and the general public.

 

EPPI-Centre Evidence Library

The EPPI-Centre conducts systematic reviews of research evidence across a range of different topic areas and provides support for others who are undertaking systematic reviews or using research evidence. Currently we have a large number of systematic reviews in the fields of Education, including Initial Teacher Education (ITE), Health Promotion and Public Health, as well as social welfare and international development.

Guide: https://eppi.ioe.ac.uk/cms/Default.aspx?tabid=184

 

3ie database of systematic reviews in international development

Systematic reviews of the effectiveness of social and economic interventions in low- and middle-income countries.  

OT Seeker

OT seeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.

Best Evidence Medical and Health Professional Education Reviews

BEME review is the systematic, logical and explicit appraisal of available information to determine the best evidence relating to an issue in health professional and medical education.

Environmental Evidence Library of Systematic Reviews

From the Collaboration for Environmental Evidence  - CEE evidence syntheses take the form of systematic reviews and maps providing rigorous and transparent methodology to assess the impacts of human activity and effectiveness of policy and management interventions.

JBI database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports  

The JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports is a refereed, online journal that publishes systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology and undertaken by the Joanna Briggs Institute and its international collaborating centers and groups.

No full text available unless FREE to view, but can access abstracts of articles.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) searches updated until end 2014 / records added until March 2015.

University of York, Centre for Reviews and Dissemination database uniquely providing access to over 13,000 abstracts of quality assessed and critically appraised systematic reviews.

TRIP  

A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence.

Epistemonikos  

Database of systematic reviews liked to included primary studies

PsycBITE

A database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatmentsfor psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).

speechBITE

speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.

SRDR Systematic Review Data Repository

The Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR) is a powerful and easy-to-use tool for the extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta-analysis. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data.

What are Overviews of Reviews

  • Cochrane Overviews of reviews (Overviews) are intended primarily to summarize multiple Cochrane Intervention reviews addressing the effects of two or more potential interventions for a single condition or health problem
  • “reviews designed to compile evidence form multiple systematic reviews of interventions into one accessible and usable document”
Becker LA, Oxman AD. Chapter 22: Overviews of reviews. In: Higgins JPT. Green, S (editors), Cochrane Handbook for Systematic reviews on Interventions Version 5.1.0 (updated march 2011) The Cochrane Collaboration, 2011. Available from http://handbook.cochrane.org

For more information see webinar below: "Overviews of reviews - what they are, what they aren't, and how and when to do one"
From the series 2013-2014 "Different Evidence, Different Syntheses Series "