Skip to main content
 

Statistics: Education & Social Sciences

Statistics for Education & Social Sciences

Welcome to the Statistics Guide for Education & Social Sciences at NUI Galway Library. When looking for statistics it helps to ask 'Who might be interested in or need this data?'. Usually there are a number of agencies that need raw statistics.  These might include Government Departments, national agencies and advocacy/consumer groups who are impacted by the topic.  

Please note: this page is not intended to be a list of everything available.

Statistics for Education

Department of Education and Skills data for primary and post-primary levels has been updated for the 2015/2016 academic year.

The Central Statistics Office (CSO) is Ireland's national statistical office and our purpose is to impartially collect, analyse and make available statistics about Ireland’s people, society and economy.

Data.gov.ie (Education Statistics) is intended to provide easy access to datasets that are free to use, reuse, and redistribute. The portal is operated by the Government Reform Unit of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform. Educational statistics by ED at National, Regional and County level.

The Educational Research Centre (ERC) is an internationally recognised centre of excellence in research, assessment and evaluation in education.

The HEA Statistics Unit is responsible for collecting, collating and analysing student data returned to the HEA from all HEA funded institutions

EURIreland: A list of statistics related to the programmes and institutions supervised by the HEA

Irish Council for International Students Substantial data is released on an annual basis by the Higher Education Authority (HEA) and, normally, by the Department of Education and Skills (DES) 

Disability Access Route to Education (DARE) and Higher Education Access Route (HEAR): The Facts and Figures Report 2017-18 is the second annual report on the Disability Access Route to Education (DARE) and Higher Education Access Route (HEAR) by the Irish Universities Association (IUA).

NationMaster (Ireland Education Statistics) is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using  forms, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

Survey of Traveller Education provision (Irish Traveller Movement) from the Inspectorate of the Department of Education and Science

Unicef "At a glance" statistics for Ireland: Education

 


 

 

OECD data on Education including Education attainment,Education resources,International student assessment (PISA),Students,Teachers,Youth and the labour market.

The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) is a triennial international survey which aims to evaluate education systems worldwide by testing the skills and knowledge of 15-year-old students who are nearing the end of their compulsory education

Global Partnership for Education (GPE) Explore global education statistics on challenges and results organized by theme, including specific data for GPE partner countries.

The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity.

OECD Education Statistics database includes the UNESCO/OECD/EUROSTAT (UOE) database on education covering the outputs of educational institutions, the policy levers that shape educational outputs, the human and financial resources invested in education, structural characteristics of education systems, and the economic and social outcomes of education, learning and training throughout life, including on employment and unemployment

Loading ...

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay 

Statistics for Social Sciences

The Irish Qualitative Data Archive (IQDA) is a central access point for qualitative social science data generated in or about Ireland. Irish Social Science Data Archive

The Irish Social Science Data Archive (ISSDA) is Ireland’s leading centre for quantitative data acquisition, preservation, and dissemination. Based at UCD Library, its mission is to ensure wide access to quantitative datasets in the social sciences, and to advance the promotion of international comparative studies of the Irish economy and Irish society.

UNESCO Intstitute for Statistics: UIS.Stat (Ireland) A powerful and easy-to-use browser for viewing and downloading the most popular UIS data and indicators in tables. Data are organized in a tree view by topic and presented using a simple three-dimensional format (indicator, country or region, year).

Statista.com (Ireland) Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Courts.ie: In this section you will find a selection of statistical information on the work of the courts in Ireland.

Growing Up in Ireland is a Government-funded study of children being carried out jointly by the ESRI and Trinity College Dublin

The Irish Longitudinal Study on Ageing (TILDA) collects information on all aspects of health, economic and social circumstances from people aged 50 and over in a series of data collection waves once every two years. TILDA is unique amongst longitudinal studies in the breadth of physical, mental health and cognitive measures collected. This data, together with the extensive social and economic data, makes TILDA one of the most comprehensive research studies of its kind both in Europe and internationally.

Eurostat: key to European Statistics Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe. 

GESIS social sciences data archive The GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences is a European data archive and research infrastructure provider.
The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since its establishment in 2001.

The European Values Study is a large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on basic human values. It provides insights into the ideas, beliefs, preferences, attitudes, values, and opinions of citizens all over Europe.

The Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE) is a multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of micro data on health, socio-economic status and social and family networks of about 140,000 individuals aged 50 or older (around 380,000 interviews). SHARE covers 27 European countries and Israel.

UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.

Australian Institute of Family Studies Trends and Statistics Links to all major sources of Australia data on children’s and families issues.

US ChildStats US statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behaviour and social environment, and education.

United Nations Statistics Division  Includes demographic and social indicators statistics.

 

 

 

Loading ...