It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library provides access to all sorts of information resources to support your learning and research. You can search all of our collections through the Library Catalogue, or learn more about different types of information resources below.
Find out about what Library services you can avail of, take our 360 Library tour and navigate your way around the Library. Each section includes a description of services available and allows you to become familiar with the Library before you visit us.
Supervisors & departmental colleagues are the best people to advise on where to publish. There are several issues which you will need to consider if you decide to publish your research. This guide is designed to highlight library tools and services available at NUI Galway to assist you with publishing your research.
Online training on Blackboard at NUI Galway
The Epigeum Writing, Presenting and Getting Published tutorials are available to research postgraduate students on GST1 on Blackboard, see screenshot of titles and relevant folder below:
Elsevier author seminar presentations at NUI Galway July 2019
Taylor and Francis Author Services webpage guides you through the steps in publishing an article: choosing a journal, writing your paper, making your submission, peer review, production, sharing your published article.
Recorded video tutorial from Taylor & Francis "What to think about before you start to write a journal article"
"Force11 is a community of scholars, librarians, archivists, publishers and research funders that has arisen organically to help facilitate the change toward improved knowledge creation and sharing. Individually and collectively, we aim to bring about a change in modern scholarly communications through the effective use of information technology. "
Click on the link above to listen to and watch MIT staff and faculty and other experts talk about various aspects of scholarly publishing & copyright, for example:
Scholarly Kitchen blog
The mission of the Society for Scholarly Publishing is “to advance scholarly publishing and communication, and the professional development of its members through education, collaboration, and networking.” The Scholarly Kitchen is a moderated and independent blog aimed to help fulfill this mission by bringing together differing opinions, commentary, and ideas, and presenting them openly.
2 copies in print and e version available also on library catalogue.
Focusing on writing for publication, The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing discusses the components of a manuscript, types of manuscripts, and the submission process. It shows how to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals. The handbook covers how to develop writing skills by offering guidance on becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer and outlining what makes a good review, and includes advice on follow–through with editors, rejection, and rewrites and re–submittals.
Academic Writing and Publishing will show academics (mainly in the social sciences) how to write and publish research articles. Its aim is to supply examples and brief discussions of recent work in all aspects of the area in short, sharp chapters. It should serve as a handbook for postgraduates and lecturers
One print copy held and e version also available on library catalogue.
Writing for Publication deals with a number of generic issues around academic writing (including intellectual property rights) and then considers writing refereed journal articles, books and book chapters in detail as well as other, less common, forms of publication for academics. The aim is to demystify the process and to help you to become a confident, competent, successful and published writer.
The Library proactively supports and enhances the learning, teaching, and research activities of the University. The Library acts as a catalyst for your success as NUI Galway’s hub for scholarly information discovery, sharing, and publication.
National University of Ireland
T. +353 91 493399