Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
To identify journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, etc. on a particular topic you need to use a database. The main database for Psychology is PsycINFO published by the APA. Multidisciplinary databases such as Scopus can also be very useful.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Vol. I and Vol. II This link opens in a new window This is a multi-part online collection that provides over 1000 hours of training videos. It includes re- enactments and also footage of actual therapy session. It allows viewers the opportunity to view expert therapists at work and learn intricacies of behaviour tone facial expression and body language that define successful counselling experiences.
EMBASE.com This link opens in a new window More than 16 billion validated biomedical and pharmacological records from EMBASE and MEDLINE.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3900 journals published world-wide.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It has almost 480 Full Text and of that just under 300 journals are Indexed in PsycINFO. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO from APA contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Journal coverage, spanning 1806 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals from more than 49 countries written in 29 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals. It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the world’s leading citation databases with multidisciplinary information from over 12000 high impact journals and over 160000 conference proceedings from around the world. Includes powerful cited reference searching the Analyze Tool over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.
See a list of other databases:
Health Sciences Databases
See also this useful overview: What's the difference between PubMed, Medline and Embase?
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
Searching within a Database
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results