Nursing & Midwifery
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
Nursing & Midwifery Databases
Some of the most frequently used databases for Nursing and Midwifery are highlighted here. Online tutorials on how to get the most from these databases are also available.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- Embase This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
To view more databases related to Nursing & Midwifery just click on this link.
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
All databases will provide you with citations of articles relevant to your search, i.e. author name, article title, journal title, year, volume and page numbers. Many will also provide you with an abstract or short summary of the article, to help you ascertain how relevant it is going to be.
If the full-text is not immediately available you may see an SFX symbol
Simply click on the SFX icon and choose the relevant option from the menu that appears.
- Last Updated: Feb 8, 2023 9:32 AM
- URL: https://libguides.library.nuigalway.ie/Nursing_and_Midwifery
- Print Page