Skip to main content
 

Music: Useful Websites

Music

General Resources

Broadside Ballads Online presents a digital collection of English printed ballad-sheets from between the 16th and 20th centuries, linked to other resources for the study of the English ballad tradition.

Cartlanna Seosamh Úi Éanaí / The Joe Heaney Archive - A free resource 

Galway Arts Festival - is a major cultural organisation, which produces one of Europe’s leading international arts festivals; develops and produces new work that tours nationally and internationally; and presents a major discussion platform.

Irish Music Magazine- The essence of Irish Music Magazine is to reflect what is happening in Irish music in contemporary society. Irish Music Magazine keeps readers informed about upcoming tours, events and festivals from the diverse world of Irish and Celtic acoustic music

Music for Galway - Founded in 1981 Music for Galway provides a diverse season of concerts, from solo recitals to chamber music performances, operatic productions and orchestral galas.  Music for Galway is funded primarily by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon & Galway City Council and is also supported by NUI Galway. 

National Music Council is an organisation that exists to promote the interests of the music industry as a whole.

Royal Academy of Music (UK) Founded in 1822, Includes a link to the Academy’s online library catalogue and Apollo: Museum Collections online.

Royal Irish Academy of Music Founded in 1848 the Academy is Ireland’s oldest musical institution the Academy embodies and reflects the traditions and heritage of Irish musicianship

Useful Websites and Resources for Music

Cecilia is an online searchable database of descriptions of music collections in libraries, archives and museums throughout the UK and Ireland

Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann is the largest group involved in the preservation and promotion of Irish traditional music. Comhaltas is a non-profit cultural movement with local branches around the world.

Contemporary Music Centre Ireland (CMC) is Ireland's archive and resource centre for new music.

Digital Repository of Ireland DRI is a national digital repository for Ireland’s humanities, social sciences, and cultural heritage data. 

International Association of Music Libraries (IAML) UK & Ireland - The IAML, promotes the activities of music libraries, archives and documentation centres to support and facilitate the realisation of projects in music bibliography, music documentation and music library and information science.

Irish Music Rights Organisation, IMRO is a national organisation that administers the performing right in copyright music in Ireland on behalf of its members (songwriters, composers and music publishers) and on behalf of members of the international overseas societies that are affiliated to it.

Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) -  is a non-profit making organisation set up by record companies in the Republic of Ireland to promote and protect the welfare and interests of the Irish record industry.

Irish Traditional Music Archive (ITMA) is a national public reference archive and resource centre for the traditional song, instrumental music and dance of Ireland.

Journal of the Society for Musicology in Ireland exists to promote Irish musicological scholarship. One of its main goals is the presentation of musicological work related to Ireland. 

The Journal of Music in Ireland Founded in 2000, The Journal of Music is an award-winning online magazine published in Ireland. JM publishes articles, essays, reviews and news as well as the latest events, jobs and opportunities in music.

Music Streaming Websites

Audio Archive This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by their users

The Great 78's Project This collection of 78rpm records and cylinder recordings was released in the early 20th century. These recordings were contributed to the Archive by users through the Open Source Audio collection. 

Women of Jazz Stream a Playlist of 91 Recordings by Great Female Jazz Musicians. From Open Culture