Skip to main content
 

Music: Databases

Search our Catalogue

Search our Catalogue:

Databases Explained

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

 

Databases for Music

The Library has access to several databases relevant to Music.

Key databases for Music include:

Free Databases:
  • American Musicological Society - Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
  • RISM - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales - aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. 
  • RISM Ireland - RISM Ireland is working to undertake the systematic cataloguing of musical sources in Ireland, both north and south. Religious and secular manuscript and printed music up to the twentieth century, music librettos and books about music are central to the project, as is the issuing of RISM sigla to previously unidentified music repositories. Sources may be either public or private but must be accessible to bona fide researchers: totally private repositories are therefore excluded from the project.

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.


Searching within a Database

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

  • subject heading or keyword
  • title
  • author
  • journal name

Getting to the full-text

There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check with SFX if the library has access to the journal article

Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results