It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library provides access to all sorts of information resources to support your learning and research. You can search all of our collections through the Library Catalogue, or learn more about different types of information resources below.
Find out about what Library services you can avail of, take our 360 Library tour and navigate your way around the Library. Each section includes a description of services available and allows you to become familiar with the Library before you visit us.
Fulltext databases provide full-text; others link using SFX see ->
Email the author
Google Scholar or Google - search for the article title using quotation marks
See this short video How to find an electronic journal article in the catalogue:
Handy tip: Remember to search for the journal title, if you don't find the article itself. We may have a print subscription to the journal, and not all journals are included in our article catalogue search.
In ServiceDesk, go to 02. Library Services - Journals/Databases/Resource Issues
After that, the e resource enquiry form will appear, and you can enter the relevant information
Our e-resources team: "Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database? With over 30,000 online journals, we can't check every one as regularly as we'd like. So please report problems to us, so we can fix them."
Other ways to access full-text
Alternative Routes to Scholarly Journals include academic social media such as Academia.edu, Mendeley and Researchgate and ways to find open access version of papers. See section below for more information.
Find the open access version of papers
Increasingly scholarly articles are becoming available on an open access basis, often through institutional repositories like our own ARAN or through discipline-based repositories such as arXiv(Physical, Mathematical and Computer Sciences) or SocArXiv (Social Sciences) . The article version on these repositories will usually be the final draft post-refereeing (also known as the post-print), so the only difference to the published version is the absence of the publisher's type-setting, formatting, logos and pagination. Several tools, services and browser plug-ins have been developed to help you find open access versions of journal articles:
DOAI (Digital Open Access Identifier) is an alternate DOI (Digital Object Identifier) resolver that takes you to a free version of the requested article, when available. To use it, replace dx.doi.org by doai.io in any DOI link. it uses metadata from Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE).
Google Scholar – searching for an article in Google Scholar will link you to both the paywalled version of the article and openly available versions if available. Please see our guide to configuring Google so that it will recognise you as an NUI Galway registered user and will link you to subscribed content where the library has a subscription.
EndNoteClick formerly Kopernio– another browser plugin from Clarivate Analytics that will link you to open access versions of articles as well as library subscriptions. It is necessary to register (for free) to use this plugin.
Open Access Button - a plugin for Chrome or Firefox that works similarly to Unpaywall – click on the button while you are viewing a pay-walled journal article and it will search for open access versions. If it doesn’t find one, it will give you the option to have them ask the author to make the article available open access. You can also search openaccessbutton.org directly for a known article by DOI or Citation.
Unpaywall - a browser plugin for Chrome or Firefox, which will display a green icon when you encounter a pay-wall for a journal article if an open access version of the article is available and will link you directly to it.
The Library proactively supports and enhances the learning, teaching, and research activities of the University. The Library acts as a catalyst for your success as NUI Galway’s hub for scholarly information discovery, sharing, and publication.
National University of Ireland
T. +353 91 493399