Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
The Library has access to several databases relevant to Archaeology.
Key databases for Archaeology include:
Archaeology Data Service This link opens in a new window The ADS Library brings together material from the British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB), the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports as well as documents from the ADS archives and archaeological publishers such as Oxbow.
British & Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB) This link opens in a new window Contains c.200000 records covering publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment historic buildings maritime and industrial archaeology environmental history and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia spans Irish history from prehistoric times to the present treating both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. The entries cover history archaeology geography politics Irish and English languages and literatures visual arts and other fields.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards. It provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 and contains over 800,000 records.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window IMB is a leading multidisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages (c. 300-1500). It provides a comprehensive and current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
Irish History Online This link opens in a new window Irish History Online is an authoritative listing (in progress) of what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It lists writings on Irish history published since the 1930s with selected material published in earlier decades. It currently contains over 92000 bibliographic records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities arts and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals. It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the world’s leading citation databases with multidisciplinary information from over 12000 high impact journals and over 160000 conference proceedings from around the world. Includes powerful cited reference searching the Analyze Tool over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.
A list of other databases for Archaeology is available here.
How to Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.
Searching within a Database
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results