Skip to main content
 

Managing your research profile: Researcher profiles - major citation databases

Profiles on citation sources

For an overview of ORCID, Scopus author id, and Web of Science Researcher ID see: 

http://myri.conul.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/ORCID-and-other-Researcher-IDs-2016.pdf

Handy tip: Link Scopus to ORCID as a first step in populating your ORCID profile

 

 

Web of Science

Web of Science  ResearcherID is now on Publons

How do I get a Web of Science ResearcherID?

 

Register on Publons and import your publications from the Web of Science to become eligible for a Web of Science ResearcherID.

Each night, Publons assigns a Web of Science ResearcherID to any profiles with one or more Web of Science Core Collection-indexed publications that do not yet have a ResearcherID.

Any publications you add to your Publons profile will then be linked to your Web of Science ResearcherID when anyone searches for you on Web of Science.  Please allow up to two weeks for changes you make on Publons to be reflected on Web of Science.

 

For more information see http://clarivate.libguides.com/webofscienceplatform/publons This guide shows how to  Use Publons to track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in a single, easy-to­maintain profile. It includes a short video on how to set up and manage your Publons profile and how to import your publications from Web of Science and Orcid.

ORCID id

  • Register for an ORCID iD and link this to your your Web of Science ResearcherID.
  • You may link your ResearcherID  to your ORCID id. See links below for instructions and a short video.

 

 

  • This link ResearcherID (Web of Science author ID) includes a pdf and a tutorial with step by step instructions. See video of 4 minute tutorial below:
  • Once you have updated your ORCID profile, you then include your ORCID id on future journal submissions and this will keep your publication list updated on Web of Science.  

Scopus

See the video below on how Author profiles work in Scopus.

See also the full range of videos on Author profiles at  https://libguides.library.nuigalway.ie/Scopus

For instructions on working with author profiles, see the Scopus profile and content support center 

Scopus uses an algorithm to create an author id and assigns papers automatically to your author id. Check regularly that your publications are captured on Scopus, particularly if you have a name which is common in your research area. See the instructions Working on gaps in author profiles in Scopus below.

The algorithm works by checking name, affiliation and research area but it can and does make mistakes.

To request corrections to author details, use the Author feedback wizard link on Scopus.

If there are issues with your author id on Scopus, you may find the best thing to do is to create an ORCID id and include it when you are submitting papers to publishers. 

 

 

ORCID id

  • Register for an ORCID iD and link this to your publications on Scopus – this will help you to counteract any papers being assigned to others with similar names by the Scopus author id algorithm
  • You may link your publication list on Scopus to your ORCID id, which has two advantages:
    • discoverability (ORCID id can then be searched on Scopus) and
    • convenience (Scopus is treated as a preferred source by and the full metadata are correctly imported)
  • See links below for instructions and a short video.
    • This link Scopus (Scopus author ID) includes a webpage showing step by step instructions on managing your author profile

 

 

  • Once you have updated your ORCID profile, you then include your ORCID id on future journal submissions and this will keep your publication list updated on Scopus.  

Google Scholar citations

Handy tip: Google Scholar  will harvest your publications from ARAN

Google Scholar Citations - allows you to create a profile from existing Google Scholar data. It displays your publications and citations, and calculates your h-index and i10-index. You can choose to make your profile public, so that it appears in Google Scholar results when people search for your name. You can also have your list of articles updated automatically or review the updates yourself. Limitations include author misidentification and some duplication. Here are instructions on how to: 

Publish or Perish

How to create your profile on Google Scholar Citations

Bibliometrics in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

On 24 March 2017, the LIS-Bibliometrics group organised a full-day workshop at the University of Westminster  on Bibliometrics in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Anne-Wil Harzing, who created the Publish or Perish software, gave two of the presentations & has uploaded slides with a summary of both talks on her blog:

http://www.harzing.com/blog/2017/03/bibliometrics-in-the-arts-humanities-and-social-sciences

Elizabeth Gadd, Research Policy Manager (Publications) at Loughborough University, gave a short presentation on the importance of monogaphs. See link to blog post and slides:

Blog post: https://thebibliomagician.wordpress.com/2017/04/28/measuring-the-magnificence-of-monographs/

Slides: Measuring the Magnificence of Monographs. Can it be done?

 

See also: Outputs from Bibliometrics in Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences conference 

Citation analysis for the social sciences

Citation analysis for the Social Sciences: metrics and data-sources
From Anne-Wil Harzing's blog - published Tue 20 Sep 2016 11:01

"Research into fairer and more inclusive measurement of research performance

My own bibliometric research since 2007 has been part of that movement. My latest article in this stream of research provides a longitudinal and cross-disciplinary comparison of the three major databases for citation analysis: Google Scholar, Scopus and the Web of Science. As it was presented at a workshop on research evaluation in Madrid, it comes complete with a set of slides and a youtube video of the presentation.

Practice with Publish or Perish

See slide #5 for a comparison of data-sources across disciplines.

Google Scholar and ARAN

 

"Note that as a rule, the discoverability and visibility of publications posted on your website is lower than of publications uploaded to an institutional and/or disciplinary repository! Most digital repositories are compliant with technical standards that enable cross-archive searching (Open Archives Initiative’s Protocol for Metadata Harvesting OAIPMH). Thus, research output placed in a repository is far easier to find than through an individual's website. "

 

From: http://www.harzing.com/download/impactguide.pdf:

How to increase the visibility & impact of your research 06/2014  ESCP Europe