Skip to main content
 

History: Useful Websites

Life of St. Patrick

Useful Websites and Resources for History

  • Irish History Online is part of a European network of national historical bibliographies from fourteen countries. Irish History Online is an authoritative listing (in progress) of what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present.
  • History Hub is based at the School of History, University College Dublin. Our ambition is to make the most recent academic research available on-line to everyone who loves history. Our podcasts feature historians talking about a whole range of subjects from medieval to modern history, both Irish and international. 
  • Dúchas.ie is a project to digitize the National Folklore Collection of Ireland, one of the largest folklore collections in the world. Material from 26 counties in the Schools' Collection is available. New material is being added on a phased basis. 
  • Ireland Illustrated 1680-1860: A database of over 500 images of Ireland, with accompanying text, drawn from more than 50 manuscript and printed works, and highlighting several neglected or rarely accessible sources. It provides an opportunity to examine how, in the case of Ireland, diverse representations were created in the course of two centuries. 
  • The Art of Travel 1500-1850: a database of European travel advice literature (Ars apodemica) from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries. The project aims to recover and reconstruct the transnational genre of travel advice literature, exploring its intellectual and cultural contexts, and illustrating its lasting importance. We are a collaborative international project based at the Moore Institute of the National University of Ireland, Galway.
  • Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more