Skip to main content
 

Gaeilge: Books

Search our Catalogue

Search our Catalogue:

How to Find a Book pdf

Loan Periods

Books in the Library have different loan periods:

  • 1 Day Loan
  • 3 Day Loan
  • Standard (borrower category dependent)

More information on borrowing books can be found at:

James Hardiman Library Borrowing

 

Books

Books relating to Gaeilge are mainly located on Floor 1. Some books are located in Closed Access and can be requested. E-books can also be accessed via the library catalogue.

Reference Material

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference works can be an invaluable starting point for your research or study. Print reference works for Gaeilge are mainly located in Humanities and Social Sciences Reference on Floor 1.

Examples of online reference works useful for Gaeilge include:

• Pocket Oxford Irish Dictionary: Irish-English 
 Pocket Oxford Irish Dictionary: English-Irish 
• Dictionary of Irish Biography
 Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture 
• Encyclopedia of Language and Education 
 Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 
• Oxford Music Online 
• Encyclopaedia Britannica 

How to Find a Book

E-Books

From the Special Collections

Íosagán / Padraic Pearse. (Baile Átha Cliath: Connradh na Gaedhilge, 1907). Bairéad Collection.

Íosagán / Padraic Pearse. (Baile Átha Cliath: Connradh na Gaedhilge, 1907). Bairéad Collection.

From the Highlights from our Special Collections 

More Information on Books

Guide to the Dewey Decimal System

Our books are catalogued using the Dewey Decimal System. Our guide to this classification scheme will help you to identify the shelf numbers for your specific subject area.