Skip to main content
 

Natural Sciences: Databases

Search our Catalogue

Search our Catalogue:

Databases Explained

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

 

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.


Searching within a Database

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

  • subject heading or keyword
  • title
  • author
  • journal name

Getting to the full-text

There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check with SFX if the library has access to the journal article

Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results

 

Databases

As a registered student of NUI Galway, you have access to a wide range of electronic resources.  n  o sign in using your student ID and pssword  get full access.

Try one of these key databases for your subject: 

Biochemistry

Botany and Plant Sciences, the above databases and the following:

Earth and Ocean Science

Microbiology

Zoology

 

More Databases relevant to Natural Sciences Databases -  are available here