Skip to main content
 

EndNote: FInd full-text

FInd full-text

Finding full text for a reference

When you use the Find Full Text feature in EndNote,  EndNote will attempt to locate full text files on the web by using the information stored within your EndNote references. Therefore, to ensure EndNote can locate as many full text PDFs as possible, it is important, when importing references into your EndNote library from an online database, that you select to export the full citation i.e. author(s), journal / book title, volume, pages etc and also the Digital Object Identifier (DOI), URL to the original database link etc. (See pages 10 – 15 for more information on importing references from an online database).

Once found, EndNote downloads and attaches the files to the references.

Finding full text:

1. In your EndNote Library highlight the references of interest

2. Click on the Find Full Text icon in the toolbar:

Or click on References >Find Full Text > Find Full Text:

3. The library catalogue window will open. Sign in using your CASS details, click on Continue and then OK to the copyright notice

4. EndNote searches for the full text (PDF) of the reference(s) that you have selected. You can see the progress and results of the search in Find Full Text in the My Library pane:

5. If full text is located a paperclip will appear to the left of the reference in the list of references. The PDF is located in the File Attachments field of the reference:

 

6. If EndNote is unable to download a PDF it may insert a link in the URL field of the reference. The link inserted in the URL field will take you to the web page for the document. From there you may be able to download the full text and attach it manually to the reference.

Note: EndNote may not be able to locate full text for all of your references. It will try and locate the full text using these methods:

• Access full text links via ISI Web of Knowledge

• Search via the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if available

• Access full text links via PubMed ‘LinkOut’

• Via NUI Galway’s open URL resolver SFX

Setting your EndNote Preferences (no need to do this when accessing from PC Suites)

Whether you are using EndNote on-campus or via your-own personal laptop you can set your Endnote preferences to locate full-text via any of the options above, select Edit > Preferences:

 

This panel allows you control over which sites, services, and technology EndNote uses when attempting to find the full text for a reference. You can limit the options in order to speed up the Find Full Text operation. Note: PubMed can be slow.

Locating full-text where available via NUI Galway Library

In order to search for full-text where available via NUI Galway Library, ensure that the following URL is entered into the OpenURL path: http://search.library.nuigalway.ie/ openurl/353GAL_INST/353GAL_services_page?

In the ‘Authentication with’ field enter the following URL: http://libgate.library.nuigalway.ie/login?url=

From here you can login into the Library’s e-resources from within EndNote using your usual CASS ID. This is particularly important if you are off-campus. Once you enter the Authentication URL, EndNote can access the full text of the matching references from the Library’s online resources.

Please note, EndNote may not be able to locate and attach full-text from all of the Library’s eresources and e-journal providers.