Skip to main content
 

Medicine: Databases

Medicine

Search our Catalogue

Search our Catalogue:

Databases Explained

A database is an organised collection or index of published data. Databases are a key resource for study or research. The Library provides access to hundreds of databases in order to make it possible for students and academics to find out what has been published on a topic.

• Some databases are multidisciplinary and index items across many subject areas.

• Some databases are subject specific and index materials from a specific subject or discipline.

• Some databases provide access to specific types of information.

Medical Databases

Some of the most frequently used databases for Medicine are highlighted here. Online tutorials on how to get the most from these databases are also available.

What's the difference between PubMed, Medline and Embase?
 
To view more databases for Medicine just click on this link. 

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.  

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

  • subject heading or keyword
  • title
  • author
  • journal name

Getting to the full-text

All databases will provide you with citations of articles relevant to your search, i.e. author name, article title, journal title, year, volume and page numbers. Many will also provide you with an abstract or short summary of the article, to help you ascertain how relevant it is going to be.

If the full-text is not immediately available you may see an SFX symbol 

 Simply click on the SFX icon and choose the relevant option from the menu that appears.