Skip to main content
 

Business & Economics: Databases

Search our Catalogue

Search our Catalogue:

Databases Explained

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

 

Databases

The Library catalogue enables you to find out if the Library has particular books or journals, or to identify books on a subject by keyword. Your broadest possible search is available through the catalogue, which searches through much of the material that we subscribe to through our databases.

To identify journal articles on a particular topic might find it useful to go to an individual database.  A number of the most frequently used databases for Business and Economics are highlighted here. Each database will have tutorials, often in video format, on how to get the most out of your use of the resource. Check 'Help' or 'About' pages to see what is available.

Business and economics-specific scholarship

Interdisciplinary scholarship

Market research

Company information

More databases for Business & Economics are available here

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.


Searching within a Database

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

  • subject heading or keyword
  • title
  • author
  • journal name

Getting to the full-text

There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check with SFX if the library has access to the journal article

Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results