Skip to main content
 

Archaeology: Useful Websites

Archaeology

Photo credit: Newgrange  via Flickr Bea y Fredi  Licence: (cc by 2.0)

Newspapers

  • Irish Newspapers Archive Online Digital archive of over six million Irish national, regional and historical newspapers.
  • Irish Times A full-text newspaper article database containing articles published in the Irish Times from 1921 to present. Full-text articles only, excludes images.
  • Nexis Nexis is the single most powerful global news and business information service with over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data.
  • P​roquest Historical Newspapers This historical newspaper collection provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Useful Websites and Resources for Archaeology

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht The Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs oversees the protection and presentation of Ireland’s heritage and cultural assets and promotes long-term sustainable economic and social progress across rural Ireland. 

National Monuments Service The National Monuments Service is part of the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and plays a key role in the protection of our archaeological heritage. It includes access to the Archaeological Survey of Ireland, an inventory of the known archaeological monuments in the State.

Excavations This site—contains summary accounts of all the excavations carried out in Ireland – North and South – from 1970 to 2013.

The Heritage Council The Heritage Council was established as a statutory body under the Heritage Act, 1995.  It takes an integrated approach to heritage, with responsibilities that include both its cultural and natural aspects. 

Ordnance Survey Ireland Ordnance Survey Ireland has evolved from the Ordnance Survey Office which was established in 1824, later becoming a state body under the Ordnance Survey Ireland Act 2001.

An Taisce - the National Trust for Ireland - a charity working to preserve and protect Ireland's natural and built heritage

The Royal Irish Academy The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society.